Thursday, January 17, 2019
Text Size

Sharyland-LogoThe Sharyland Independent School district is one of 20 school districts across the state selected by the Texas Education Agency to assist them in developing local guidelines for the new accountability system, according to the district.

Sharyland, as well as Premier High School - a charter school system with five campuses in the Rio Grande Valley - are the only districts in the Valley participating in this study, TEA spokeswoman DeEtta Culbertson said.

As part of this new accountability system - which was approved during the 85th Texas Legislature as House Bill 22 - establishes three domains for measuring the academic performance of districts and campuses: Student Achievement, School Progress, and Closing the Gaps, Culbertson said. According to the TEA website, districts began receiving a rating of A, B, C, D, or F for overall performance, as well as for performance in each domain last August.

Campuses will receive overall A–F ratings beginning in August 2019.

The bill also allows districts and charters to develop plans to locally rate their campuses, the TEA website states. Once a plan receives approval from the agency, districts and charters may use the locally developed domains and indicators along with the three state domains to assign A–F ratings for each campus.

As part of HB 22, a legislative report that shows the overall and domain performance ratings each campus would have received for the 2017–18 school year had the campus A–F ratings been in place is due January 1, 2019.

As part of this pilot study for TEA, Sharyland ISD will attend four monthly meetings hosted by TEA this spring as part of the local plan development. According to
Culbertson, once a plan receives TEA approval, districts and charter schools may use locally developed domains and indicators in conjunction with the three state-mandated domains to assign overall A–F ratings for each of its campuses.

Approved local accountability systems will be available for use beginning with the 2018–2019 school year, the district said in a news release.