Tuesday, June 18, 2019
Text Size

The 2014 South Texas Ag Roundup (STAR) Livestock Show had another very successful show, held Feb. 26-Mar. 1 at Edinburg Municipal Park. The event drew 633 youth, from more than 30 FFA chapters and 4-H Clubs, exhibiting 805 projects.

20140307 STAR-Livestock-Show IMG 0291fvA premium auction was held Saturday with 323 youth earning $280,000 in total premiums. In addition, 27 participants received a portion of $41,750 in scholarships.

The Guerra Brothers donated $10,000 for Showmanship awards for buckles and cash awards for the show participants.

Sharyland FFA and Sharyland 4-H were again neck-and-neck at the head of the pack in total number of grand champions, reserve champions or breed champions. Sharyland FFA participants earned 10 of these top awards, including Kayla Marek and Marshall Curl earning grand champion awards for their projects. Kayla won her prize with a Charolais Market Steer entry, and Marshall, whose AOB heifer took grand champion in the Breeding Heifer class, also won Supreme Heifer for the show.

Supreme Bull was awarded to John Paul Rodriguez of Edinburg Vela FFA. Reserve Supreme Bull went to Joe Montemayor of La Joya FFA, and Reserve Supreme Heifer was awarded to Marco Pena of Linn-San Manuel 4-H Club.

Sharyland FFA students who won reserve grand champion awards were Robert Welch (Market Steer), Marexy Guerra (Market Hog), Julian Salinas (Breeding Gilts), and Thalia Ochoa (Breeding Goat).

Sharyland 4-H grand champions were Priscilla Cerda (Market Lamb) and Reece Teplicek (Poultry). Earning reserve grand champion for Sharyland 4-H was Courtney Teplicek (Poultry).

Four students from Sharyland FFA earning breed champion were Brandon Cottrell (MAS Simbrah Market Steer), Zachary Cottrell (Simbrah Market Steer), Aliyah Silva (LT Cross Market Hog), and Gerardo Lopez (Duroc Brd Gilts).

Sharyland 4-H also had four youth earning breed champion. They were: Melanie Turrubiates (Market Goat), Evan Acevedo (Brd Heifer), Kassy Torres (AOB Commercial Brd. Heifer) and Mikayla Zimmerer (Brd. Goat).

The only other Mission-area students earning breed champion were Francisco Mendez (ABC Market Steer) of Coyote 4-H, Darian Bazan (OPB Market Hog) of Veterans Memorial FFA, and Viviana Garcia (Lt Cross Brd. Gilts) of Palmview FFA.

Sharyland FFA also won more reserve breed champions than any other chapter or club, with nine winners. They were Teah Barrientes, Luis Garcia, Danielle Rangel, Awbrey Long, Marco Rivera, Renee Boyle, Joaquin Garcia, Ryan Longoria and Emily Keller. Other local area breed champion awards went to Kimberly Castillo and Adriana Ruvalcaba of Juarez-Lincoln FFA, Marissa Garcia of Veterans Memorial FFA, and Daniel Garcia of Palmview FFA.

In the Ag Mechanics Division, Victor Castorena, of Juarez-Lincoln FFA, earned reserve grand champion award with a rocking chair he constructed.